2019 SPADA Conference

SPADA Screen Industry Awards 2019

Nominations and entries for this year's SPADA Screen Industry Awards will open soon.  The annual SPADA Screen Industry Awards will be held during the 27th annual SPADA Conference in Auckland.

The 2018 SPADA Screen Industry Award Recipients were:  

  • SPADA New Filmmaker of the Year, sponsored by Park Road Post Production - KYAN KRUMDIECK of Divisionary Films.

  • SPADA Independent Producer of the Year, sponsored by Crombie Lockwood - DESRAY ARMSTRONG of Sandy Lane Productions.  As well as producing Mike Minogue’s comedy web series The Watercooler (released on NZME’s platform Watch Me) and Michelle Saville’s short film BATS, Desray has also produced her debut feature film STRAY. Desray’s commitment to STRAY and her tireless determination as an independent producer, resulted in this producer securing the bulk of the feature film's budget through private investment from arts patrons as well as in-kind sponsorship on technical equipment, post-production services… and from corporate sponsors and she ran a record-breaking Boosted campaign that raised over $125,000 for the film.

  • SPADA / DATABOOK Industry Champion - JENNIFER WARD-LEALAND The Award recognises Jennifer’s tireless dedication to the stage and screen, in a career that spans more than 40 years. She has worked as an actor, director, teacher, presenter, host, narrator and mentoring in major productions across most genres and in both English and te reo Maori.

A very BIG thank you to our long-term SPADA Screen Industry Award Sponsors


PR logo high res CMYKCL Logo R Lockup

data book